Tumblr_lki1w8sjyj1qh7c7go1_500_large

“I  am Me. In all the world, there is no one else exactly like me. Everything that comes out of me is authentically mine, because I alone chose it — I own everything about me: my body, my feelings, my mouth, my voice, all my actions, whether they be to others or myself. I own my fantasies, my dreams, my hopes, my fears. I own my triumphs and successes, all my failures and mistakes. Because I own all of me, I can become intimately acquainted with me. By so doing, I can love me and be friendly with all my parts. I know there are aspects about myself that puzzle me, and other aspects that I do not know — but as long as I am friendly and loving to myself, I can courageously and hopefully look for solutions to the puzzles and ways to find out more about me. However I look and sound, whatever I say and do, and whatever I think and feel at a given moment in time is authentically me. If later some parts of how I looked, sounded, thought, and felt turn out to be unfitting, I can discard that which is unfitting, keep the rest, and invent something new for that which I discarded. I can see, hear, feel, think, say, and do. I have the tools to survive, to be close to others, to be productive, and to make sense and order out of the world of people and things outside of me. I own me, and therefore, I can engineer me. I am me, and I am Okay.” – Virginia Satir

In a world that makes you feel like a hermit if you are not plugged in to every form of social media, it’s always important to remember, that being alone is not the same as being lonely or disconnected. For it’s within our times of solitude, that we are truly able to nurture ourselves and thus productively nurture others.

Nowadays if you do not keep up with or are not on fakebook, twitter, or any of the new social interacting media outlets you might be seen as a bit odd, a social hermit or living in the stone age, but the fact is, no amount of online networking signifies actual real time connectedness. If anything, sometimes being plugged in so much takes away from our alone time with ourselves. We must embrace the silence that is within us and hear the beat of our own hearts in order to understand the heart beat of others. I mean, it’s either that or contract

Tumblr_l4t9mcutpl1qcvabdo1_400_large

In an interview on Boston. com, New York University sociologist and author of “Alone in America,” Eric Klinenberg, explains, “There’s so much cultural anxiety about isolation in our country that we often fail to appreciate the benefits of solitude.”

Percent of People Who Use Social Networks Percent Yes
Do you ever use / have a profile on… (Poll Taken in early 2012)
Any social network 56 %
Facebook 54 %
LinkedIn 13 %
Twitter 10 %
Google+ 8 %
Social Network Statistics Data
Total number of Facebook users worldwide 1.2 Billion
Total percentage of 18-24 year olds who already use social media 98%
Total percentage of people on Earth who use Facebook 11%
Total amount of minutes people spend on Facebook every month 700 billion
Average amount of time a person uses Facebook per month 15 hours 33 minutes
Total amount of people who access Facebook with phone 250 million

I believe that alone time and privacy are essential and necessary elements of survival for the individual voice. Finding out who you are and spending time with yourself can sometimes be more fulfilling than inundating yourself with the mirage of being “accepted” by a society that dots their affection with a  “like.” The better we learn to communicate with ourselves the  deeper we will be able to connect with others, especially those we hold dear. And as much as I like the occasional party and get together, I find myself more desirous for intimate settings where meaningful interaction can be held. In my eyes, abstraction is best left to art over the intimacy of the relationship with ourselves and others.

tumblr_m4lc17C8Xb1qz4cuyo1_500

Swiss designers Micasa Lab, have developed a way to quietly retreat with a fun bubble like house, called Cocoon 1. It is equipped with a power pack that has enough energy for 40 hours of light or 20 hours of light and 30 minutes of cooking, they can be transported to any secluded area, as well as a basic cooking facility and water pipe.

While you don’t need a bubble like this to find time alone, I can’t say I wouldn’t mind having one. It sorta’ reminds me of the equivalent  of making a mini-house out of bed-sheets when you were a kid. You know, you’d prop up a blanket over chairs, attach it to the bed post and crawl inside to your little house within a house.  Well, this to me seems like the manufactured version of that.

While some may think or postulate if…..being_alone_is_shameful__unfortunate__sad__by_ayanashii-d5fbnbb

They may want to consider 7 things that being too plugged in can lead people to do:

1. Develop a steroided need to impress others over themselves

2. Feel non-existent or insecure at any given moment they are not urgently met with feedback

3. Lack of personal investment in a singular relationship tied in with the constant need to quickly sell our personality to every single walk of life we come across.

4. Our evaluations become externalized comparisons of our material lives in contrast to others inverse of internal self-evaluation and personal growth in contrast to ourselves.

5. By plugging into everyone else, we give people pieces of ourselves that have not been cultivated or nurtured by moving inwards.

6. The content and power of a one-on- one face time experience is lessened due to the constant flow of being plugged into our gadgets and not plugged into ourselves.

7. Sound looses it’s meaning and silence is never heard.

While I do not snub my nose at social media, as it allows me the forum to connect to all of you,  I am simply saying that we must not neglect the value of  seclusiveness and a bit of privacy. For without solitude our sense for simplicity will be numbed and  in turn we lose the pleasure of noticing all the natural, little details in  others and in life,  from the mundane to the thrilling.

“What a lovely surprise to finally discover how unlonely being alone can be.”
Ellen Burstyn

 

 

