The List

February 3, 2013

A silly story about a girl, her fixation, a guy and her list.

Flipping through programming trying to erase you from my channel,

There I was, second day straight, hypnotized while living in my flannel.

Tumblr_le5wh5x9oj1qc21oto1_500_large

With the same feelings of  a 13-year-old, all giggly and dewy eyed.

Tumblr_mdxfr379171rpd17no1_400_large

When he walked into that room, everything from gravity and life as I knew it, ceased to exist.

And I swear I saw two of him coexist.

Tumblr_mfu7aqvmvn1rkpfn6o1_500_large

And my whole point of being, was summarized by the life in his luminous eyes.

All it took was one look, and I told myself, “Don’t say anything unwise!”

Tumblr_mhixbv2b521r1nfy1o1_400_large

483087_341739839275146_879208969_n_large

I was fixated, forever haunted and entranced by, wait did he bite his lip?

Soft, beckoning and in slow motion, ok he didn’t, get a grip.

Tumblr_mhnd7fqvwj1rnoo4po1_500_large

Tumblr_mfcnykw4ss1rorj9vo1_250_large

My veins and all body mechanics became employed by my imagination, he had me, jaw dropped & twinkled eyes;

he was the tune, on a permanent rotation.

Tumblr_mg4qagbkl61qjt17zo1_500_large

Tomorrow was going to be Monday, he’d give me wink and walk by my desk,

And I, I’d pretend I didn’t care, I’d stand there, non-nonchalant and statuesque

Sudden obsession birthed from a childhood spent in boy defiance and aggression,

Tumblr_m1gansxjmc1rp7m7ho1_500_large

Became unmanageable, un-treatable and after two-weeks, no longer could I repress him.

And in reality, his utter lack of attention to me?

Well, it drove me crazy!

Tumblr_mhgukyysqw1rtiqeao1_500_large

I devised a plan, which consisted of,

do everything and anything you can to get this man!

So here’s my list to secure this mans undying kiss:

Tumblr_mhmagcldxj1rshl2ho1_500_large

Night before: Practice cat walk and pouting

Tumblr_ltl99ontqp1qbwy3to1_500_large

And rehears to say something funny and astounding.

Tumblr_mhmdaxuf5k1rilq5mo1_400_large

Ajuma_Nasenyana11_238039528

Post notes all over the house, for support

Try on everything in your closet nothing too long, nothing too short!

Tumblr_mgyhi8x4g61rtad8co1_500_large

Nothing good enough in closet

I must design something, sexy, no, Audrey Hepburn like not hobbit.

Tumblr_mgogsipqwt1qez00mo1_500_large

Tumblr_mgxoh0pxox1qez00mo1_500_large

Read,

face mask,

meditation

and when I wake up in the morning,

He will exist more than in my imagination.

Tumblr_mflb5qvthz1qbvgp5o3_1280_large

.

Went to sleep and dreamt of him in my bed,

And when I woke up I realized it was all in my head

Tumblr_mh796p9xn81rr9ghko1_400_large

Tumblr_mgzxyk4ugh1rb2an4o1_500_large

Early morning, while brushing teeth, practice the perfect smile.

“Confidence, class, sophistication, it’s not an act, it’s a lifestyle.”

Now, apply red, no pink, no purple, green and glitter!

Tumblr_mgzsym0szb1s28f9no1_500_large

Tumblr_m8ptansidu1qif4xao1_500_large

Tumblr_mgxjlgwpip1s3lkruo1_400_large

Wait isn’t red, the color of someone sexy and clever?!

Tumblr_lwvzbjcgis1qmpg90o1_500_large

dd

Now for something comfortable and not too dramatic.

I hope this little black dress is quiet enough but causes him to panic.

Tumblr_mh8vzgbqz41rzeak4o1_500_large

And will top it off with a sweater with just a small subtle sign;

Little does he know, I spent all night cutting this design.

Tumblr_mh7uptnitk1s1mjseo1_500_large

No more list, I’m out the door, like a battalion walking tall and suave, on a mission for amor.

1z_large

Aa_girlsss_large

There he is, buttoning his coat,

try to act natural, bury your head in your book and don’t dote!

216032113346606248_pkpzsanp_c_large

Oh my god! He called my name,

Collect yourself!  Now act mysterious and tame.

tumblr_m727haiweu1qzvrrzo1_500

7dd3ebc2c95ba09b0b6b53e0f82e7351_large.jpg

“How was your weekend?” he asked.

And like a kid in a candy store I was dumbfounded stuck in trance.

Tumblr_m6t5sb980p1r3k8svo1_400_large

Tumblr_m94ko8vek81qj73e2o1_500_large

“Well, ya know, weekends are, so weekend like, ya know.”

Tumblr_m7s4rkvzub1r7yleco1_500_large

What did I just say, it didn’t make any sense,

and as soon as I tried to get my thoughts together,

my brother grabbed my cheeks and made me look so dense.

Tumblr_mg2e76kghv1r8iv71o1_500_large

Thinking it was my boyfriend, that’s why he walked away!

And I’m here left alone, with nothing clever to say.

All-i-want-is-the-taste-that-your-li_5b1_5d_large

Ok, must regroup, emergency ‘cool chick’ cigarettes, plan b,

so he can get close and light it up for me.

lens4637822_1242419705dl026

Tumblr_mhk3zoukpe1rvam7wo1_500_large

But I don’t smoke, so a huge plume of death got caught my throat.

Tumblr_mhlzyhgz6i1revg8fo1_400_large

Bathroom emergency, second regroup, should have made him a chocolate cake, no that could give him a toothache.

Tumblr_lx4xd9tzau1ql0a35o1_500_large

OK a shot of perfume and a little bit of  eye liner,

Must try to act a little daintier and exceptionally refiner.

Tumblr_mc9p83elj61qlkwd8o1_500_large

Getimage_large

Now reapply some color and imagine its him helpful and dapper.

Tumblr_mcpb8tuq6p1r600xqo1_500_large

Ok, act two, there he is,

stand next to him,

and read a book while pretending to be a genius a whiz.

above(image from amazing photographer Darren Roberts collection)

Now sit, and curl a strand of your hair.

Do anything to make him aware.

Tumblr_mhbksn1gei1rf9b4po1_500_large

Tease and eat with moving lips, but not enough to go to the hips.

Tumblr_mdqznrtdcp1rl96cao1_500_large

He’s not paying attention!

It’s like I don’t exist,

Tumblr_mh2chpj6z91qz4d4bo1_500_large

Maybe I should just jump his bones and attach my face to his!

3865_446963505368679_1672120297_n_large

I know!  I’ll blow a bubble,

 he’s the least of my troubles.

Splash, the plan backed up on me,

my face is ridiculed with failed attempts, smudged & sticky!

Tumblr_lxvr9jtkse1qgorv8o1_400_large

Now what I’ve done?! He’s gone and walked away,

And there’s a thousand voices inside of me pleading for him to stay!

Tumblr_mh1k619ipy1rjtbmdo1_500_large

I had so much to say,

but nothing showed up,

I was not eloquent or brave;

only desperate and him, probably fed up.

2303757_460s_large

Oh well, so much for the day, my feelings & my heart I did not convey.

What’s so great about him anyways?

His smile,

His eyes,

His laugh,

The way he listens to me on my behalf?

2a2cfa4e3094375426868d91d8fbdb1d_large

No, he’s just a man,

I don’t like him,

matter of fact, I’m putting him on a mental ban!

Tumblr_mef4fwej8b1qlp5emo1_1280_large

Tumblr_mhnrqgfg1i1s50nj9o1_500_large

Tumblr_mdux3lmtku1rjwp3bo1_500_large

And right when I was going to cry you wouldn’t believe what came before my eyes.

Tumblr_mhm743r4hy1rqer5go1_500_large

Flowers in hand he gave to me while whispering in my ear that he wanted only me.

Tumblr_mhkpg5xuta1s1njiqo1_500_large

We sat by the pond, he pulled me in close and pointed to me everywhere in his heart that I had enclosed.

Tumblr_mfe87lca0h1rh1wv4o1_500_large

734781_478001825580541_1183798479_n_large

I just smiled from ear to ear,

For what would I do for love?  Well, what wouldn’t I dare.

Oh! And did I mentioned we kissed!

Tumblr_mgzw3migco1r2t1yyo1_500_large

_____________________________

THE LIST

Flipping through programming trying to erase you from my channel,

There I was, second day straight, hypnotized while living in my flannel.

With the same feelings of  a 13-year-old, all giggly and dewy eyed.

When he walked into that room, everything from gravity and life as I knew it, ceased to exist.

And I swear I saw two of him coexist.

And my whole point of being, was summarized by the life in his luminous eyes.

All it took was one look, and I told myself, “Don’t say anything unwise!”

I was fixated, forever haunted and entranced by, wait did he bite his lip?

Soft, beckoning and in slow motion, ok he didn’t, get a grip.

My veins and all body mechanics became employed by my imagination, he had me, jaw dropped & twinkled eyes;

he was the tune, on a permanent rotation.

Tomorrow was going to be Monday, he’d give me wink and walk by my desk,

And I, I’d pretend I didn’t care, I’d stand there, non-nonchalant and statuesque

Sudden obsession birthed from a childhood spent in boy defiance and aggression,

Became unmanageable, un-treatable and after two-weeks, no longer could I repress him.

And in reality, his utter lack of attention to me?

Well, it drove me crazy!

I devised a plan, which consisted of,

do everything and anything you can to get this man!

So here’s my list to secure this mans undying kiss:

Night before: Practice cat walk and pouting

And rehears to say something funny and astounding.

Post notes all over the house, for support

Try on everything in your closet nothing too long, nothing too short!

Nothing good enough in closet

I must design something, sexy, no, Audrey Hepburn like not hobbit.

Read,

face mask,

meditation

and when I wake up in the morning,

He will exist more than in my imagination.

Went to sleep and dreamt of him in my bed,

And when I woke up I realized it was all in my head

Early morning, while brushing teeth, practice the perfect smile.

“Confidence, class, sophistication, it’s not an act, it’s a lifestyle.”

Now, apply red, no pink, no purple, green and glitter!

Wait isn’t red, the color of someone sexy and clever?!

Now for something comfortable and not too dramatic.

I hope this little black dress is quiet enough but causes him to panic.

And will top it off with a sweater with just a small subtle sign;

Little does he know, I spent all night cutting this design.

No more list, I’m out the door, like a battalion walking tall and suave, on a mission for amor.

There he is, buttoning his coat,

try to act natural, bury your head in your book and don’t dote!

Oh my god! He called my name,

Collect yourself!  Now act mysterious and tame.

“How was your weekend?” he asked.

And like a kid in a candy store I was dumbfounded stuck in trance.

“Well, ya know, weekends are, so weekend like, ya know.”

What did I just say, it didn’t make any sense,

and as soon as I tried to get my thoughts together,

my brother grabbed my cheeks and made me look so dense.

Thinking it was my boyfriend, that’s why he walked away!

And I’m here left alone, with nothing clever to say.

Ok, must regroup, emergency ‘cool chick’ cigarettes, plan b,

so he can get close and light it up for me.

But I don’t smoke, so a huge plume of death got caught my throat.

Bathroom emergency, second regroup, should have made him a chocolate cake, no that could give him a toothache.

OK a shot of perfume and a little bit of  eye liner,

Must try to act a little daintier and exceptionally refiner.

Now reapply some color and imagine its him helpful and dapper.

Ok, act two, there he is,

stand next to him,

and read a book while pretending to be a genius a whiz.

Now sit, and curl a strand of your hair.

Do anything to make him aware.

Tease and eat with moving lips, but not enough to go to the hips.

He’s not paying attention!

It’s like I don’t exist,

Maybe I should just jump his bones and attach my face to his!

I know!  I’ll blow a bubble,

 he’s the least of my troubles.

Splash, the plan backed up on me,

my face is ridiculed with failed attempts, smudged & sticky!

Now what I’ve done?! He’s gone and walked away,

And there’s a thousand voices inside of me pleading for him to stay!

I had so much to say,

but nothing showed up,

I was not eloquent or brave;

only desperate and him, probably fed up.

Oh well, so much for the day, my feelings & my heart I did not convey.

What’s so great about him anyways?

His smile,

His eyes,

His laugh,

The way he listens to me on my behalf?

No, he’s just a man,

I don’t like him,

matter of fact, I’m putting him on a mental ban!

And right when I was going to cry you wouldn’t believe what came before my eyes.

Flowers in hand he gave to me while whispering in my ear that he wanted only me.

We sat by the pond, he pulled me in close and pointed to me everywhere in his heart that I had enclosed.

I just smiled from ear to ear,

For what would I do for love?  Well, what wouldn’t I dare.

OH and did I mentioned, we kissed!

2 Responses to “The List”

  1. deadpoetdormis2 said

    oh I’d say something but seems some tears have gotten in the way… very touching and well done!

  2. Matthew Kenneth Kosak said

    “F.I.N.E. freaked out, insecure, neurotic, and emotional!” 😉 Fascinating and abstract, and a bit darkish too. Look forward to seeing more your creations Magnolia. A nice weekend to you!

Leave a Reply

